Meritus News



Meritus earns 3rd consecutive ‘A’ hospital safety grade from Leapfrog

May 1, 2024 - Press Release

Meritus Medical Center earned its third consecutive “A” Hospital Safety Grade from The Leapfrog Group, a national nonprofit watchdog that sets standards for excellence in patient care.

Leapfrog assigns an “A,” “B,” “C,” “D” or “F” grade to general hospitals across the country based on more than 30 national performance measures reflecting errors, accidents, injuries and infections, as well as the systems hospitals have in place to prevent harm.

“We are community-obsessed and that means providing our neighbors with the highest quality care possible,” said Meritus Health Chief Operating Officer Carrie Adams, Pharm.D. “It takes an incredible amount of dedication and commitment by every single one of our team members to earn this highest rating three times in a row. I’m proud of our teams for their continued and impressive commitment to providing our community with incredible care.”

The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade is the only hospital-ratings program exclusively based on hospital prevention of medical errors, infections and injuries. The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade is peer-reviewed, fully transparent and free to the public. Grades are updated twice annually in the fall and spring.

“Earning an ‘A’ Grade means Meritus Medical Center made a true commitment to put patients first,” said Leah Binder, president and CEO of The Leapfrog Group. “We congratulate the leadership, Board, clinicians, staff and volunteers that all had a role to play in this achievement.”

To see Meritus’ full grade details and to access patient tips for staying safe in the hospital, visit To learn more about Meritus and its mission, vision and values, go to, and follow us on Facebook and LinkedIn.

Share this Article

Featured in this Article

Carrie Adams, Pharm.D.

Chief Operating Officer

Meritus Medical Center