Meritus News



Meritus Medical Center among high-performing, best hospitals 2023-2024

August 1, 2023 - Press Release

Meritus Medical Center has been named a 2023-2024 High Performing Hospital in treatment of heart failure and stroke.

The recognition comes from U.S. News & World Report, a global authority in hospital rankings and consumer advice. This is the highest award a hospital can earn for U.S. News’ Best Hospitals Procedures & Conditions ratings.

The annual Procedures & Conditions ratings are designed to assist patients and their doctors in making informed decisions about where to receive care for challenging health conditions or elective procedures.

"We take immense pride in this national recognition, as it reaffirms our unwavering commitment to improving the health of our community. At Meritus, our hospital consistently excels in meeting the needs of our patients, a testament to the dedication and skills of our remarkable teams,” said Chief Operating Officer, Carrie Adams, Pharm.D.

U.S. News evaluated more than 4,500 hospitals across 15 specialties and 21 procedures and conditions. Hospitals awarded a “Best” designation excelled at factors such as clinical outcomes, level of nursing care and patient experience.

For Meritus, Western Maryland’s largest healthcare system, the recognition from U.S. News & World Report is the latest in a series of honors both regionally and nationally.

“From being a top employer to being voted the best hospital, it’s because of our team members who have pushed us to the top. This recognition is just one of the many ways we strive to fulfill our goal of making a positive impact on the lives of those we serve,” said President and CEO, Maulik Joshi, Dr.P.H.

Recent accomplishments include:

·      An ‘A’ Hospital Safety Grade from The Leapfrog Group

·      Listed in the top 1% of hospital giving back to their communities by the Lown Institute

·      Named to the Forbes’ Best-in-State Employers 2022

·      Voted Best Employer in the Tristate in Verstandig Media’s Best of the Tristate 2023

·      2023 Carolyn Boone Lewis Equity of Care Award

·      2023 Foster G. McGaw Award finalist

Share this Article